Home

Don’t look now, but I’m the featured writer for the “Living Literature” section of Manila Speak.

Each Saturday, Manila Speak will publish a story or essay of mine. This week it is Closopen, written for my first creative writing class (with Prof. Butch Dalisay).

You’ll find that my story employs a liberated syntax, full of run-on sentences and comma splices. I wrote this after I had read Jose Saramago’s “Blindness” and had been so captivated by his comma-less novel.

Oh, that I would enjoy some quiet within and without to write fiction again. The Lord wills it! :) 

 

 

Photo credit: braq.deviantart.com

4 thoughts on “Short fiction: “Closopen”

  1. Hi Janet,

    I read your Closeopen article. My, my, I don’t know what to say, it’s good writing, but such as sad story…bizarre…but yes, it happens.

    I read your grammar lessons and share it with my teachers.

    I found out that you are my daughter’s friend…Mia Rocha Lauchengco.

    Have a great day!

    Therefore, I am

    Tita Minda

    Sent from my iPad

    • Hi, Tita Minda! How wonderful to hear from you. Yes, I know Mia. :) I’m glad your teachers are able to use the grammar tips on this blog. I enjoy writing them especially when the lesson corrects my own error.

      The “Closopen” story is painful and bizarre, isn’t it? Like life is, sometimes.

      Take care!
      Janet

Leave a Reply

