Home

Happy Easter, folks!

It’s been quite a while since my last post. My bad. I hope to make up for the long silence!

Here are the differences between between and among, which I promised you in–gasp!–January.

  • The word between comes from the Old English term betwēonum—from be ‘by’ + a Germanic word related to two. Hence, between refers often, but not always, to two things or people.
  • The word among comes from the Old English term ongemang (from on ‘in’ + gemang ‘assemblage, mingling’). Hence, among often refers to more than two things or people.

1 Between and Among

2 Between and among

3 Between and among

Source: New American Oxford Dictionary

Photo Credit: Choices are Illusion

4 thoughts on “Between and among

  1. Hi Ms. Janet,

    Thank you for this. :) By the way, are you still going to send us the lecture materials for the Feb. 4-5, 2013 workshop? :D

    Thanks and Best Regards,

    Nena N. Bermudo Acting Executive Assistant Technology Management Group Land Bank of the Philippines 1598 M. H. del Pilar cor Dr. Quintos Sts., Malate, Manila

    This communication is intended solely for the use of the addressee. It may contain confidential or legally privileged information. If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution or taking any action in reliance on this communication is strictly prohibited and may be unlawful. If you received this communication in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete this communication from your system. Land Bank of the Philippines is neither liable for the proper and complete transmission of this communication nor for any delay in its receipt.

  2. Hi, Nena! Thanks for the reminder! Yes, I will. Sorry for the delay. I haven’t had a yaya for my three-year-old since December (off and on), so it’s been quite tricky managing work and life. Whew! :)

    • It’s great to be back, Jo! I’ve been drowning in so much work–and I still am–but I thought, hey, I can’t wait for the work to disappear before I send language tips. :) I call it “brute force” philosophy. Ha ha!

Leave a Reply

